Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Drawing Class # 4

2 Comments

So, back to class with my new drawing.

Worked on the background to get the drapery right and some shading of the leaves and flowers. I must admit to finding it difficult to get my head around how to make draped material look like draped material, but I’m going to give it a go.

Instructor believes I will finish the piece next week. We’ll see.

Today, I started another drawing. I have a photo of K that I have always loved from when she was 4 months old. I am drawing that. It will be a challenge but I would love to have a drawing of her on the wall. I’ll see how I go with that.

The two hours flew by. Can’t wait for next week.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Drawing Class # 4

  1. don’t forget your ‘kneaded eraser”, the blob of stuff like silly putty you use to take some of the pencil or chalk off the page, thus giving light highlights. very useful for areas of contrast like the folds of a draped curtain.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

