Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Busy Knitting!

Leave a comment

I have been itching to knit for some reason. Maybe with the cooler weather coming on it has brought on the knitting bug. I usually try and knit K. a new beanie each year. As she can’t wear wool due to her eczema, she has to wear cotton. I can never find cotton hats to buy so I make them. When she was tiny I used 4ply cotton, or crochet cotton, so the beanies were tiny and very cute.

This year I tried 8ply cotton and a pattern that would normally use 12ply wool for a woman’s head. It worked perfectly.

Then I thought I would try and find some 12ply cotton so I could have a cotton hat for winter too. It is so much softer and less scratchy than wool, and I really don’t like acrylic next to my skin. I found some on a really great website called The Wool Shack. It is located in Perth and the service and quality of goods is wonderful. I ordered the cotton on the Tuesday before Easter weekend and received it the following Tuesday – great turnaround!

Here are the results so far:
This was worked in Peaches and Cream Ombres, colour Raspberry Swirl. I followed the original pattern using a garter stitch band.

Next, I used the Peaches and Cream Teal 12ply cotton, but this time I worked the band in double moss stitch:

I am currently working on another using the Peaches and Cream Ombres, colour Lilac. The band will be in single moss stitch, which is a little more time consuming. But I can’t complain. Each hat is only taking a few days to complete.

The Wool Shack also has links to sites that list dishcloth patterns using the 12ply cotton. I am going to work some for Christmas presents this year. I’ll be placing more orders for cotton very soon.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

