Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Princess Party

1 Comment

There is more to being creative than just painting, sewing, craft – there are also birthday cakes! I had a lot of fun making K.’s birthday cake this year. I have never tried to make a fancy cake like this before, but it was so worth it.

This photo was taken as soon as I completed the cake, with the mess on the bench all around it! I had to take a picture straight away in case I dropped the cake or something.

I must admit that the most nerve-wracking part was cutting into the first whole cake to make the smaller circles for the layers. If I got it wrong it meant making another cake! After that it got easier.

And here it is all lit up ready for K. to blow out the candles…

If I was going to make one again I would do a couple of things differently, but the look on her face when she saw her birthday cake reduced any worries to nothing. Perfection is not so important really.

And, here is a princess’ idea of a photo of herself in her party outfit!

And here are her glorious curls, which I thought I’d share:

The girls made tiaras at the table, glitter glue and stickers everywhere, they played pass-the-parcel, and had lovely party food, including cupcakes, fairy wand biscuits and sweeties, and of, course, birthday cake!

A fun party was had by all and it was deemed a great success by everyone, smallest baby to oldest granny! But best and most important of all, K. had a wonderful day!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Princess Party

  1. Beautiful cake! Sorry I couldn’t be there to enjoy the edible demolition.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

