Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Spider Orchid – On hold for now

Leave a comment

So, here are the last two pictures taken of the Spider Orchid painting – before and after.

Before – this is how it looked before I decided I didn’t like the background at all anymore. With any other flower/foreground, the background might have worked, and it was looking good as a grassy,reedy background. As I layered on more pastel it was starting to look muddy to me as well, too overworked.

After – I looked at the flower and decided that I want it to stand out from the background, not fight with it so I decided to look at complementary colours and decided that blue/purple was what I wanted. I got as far as brushing off the excess dust from the old background and scumbling a layer of colour just to see what it looks like. But that’s as far as it has gone. I’m going to keep looking at this one and thinking about what I really want from this painting. Working on the background as much as I did has taken away some of my enthusiasm for this painting, so I think I am better off leaving it for a time and revisiting it later.

(I have removed the photo of the painting after I made the changes as I am going to revisit it in the future and this was just the ‘undercoat’. I don’t want this unfinished painting on my blog. Stay tuned for a future update…)

As I said previously, my instructor was horrified. But I’m not. I just have to trust what I want out of a painting, not depend on another person’s vision. What I want is to use light and shade, through colour tone to support the painting of the flower. Now I just have to make that happen.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

