Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Photoless creativity

Leave a comment

I’ve had a busy couple of days. Yesterday, after K.’s Mini-Muscles class, K. and I had our first swim of the season at our local pool (38C until a southerly hit later in the day). And then in the afternoon I had to do some cooking to get ready for a birthday picnic today.

As K. has egg allergy, whenever we go to a party I have to prepare ahead to make sure she has some party food to eat. So I cooked egg-free chocolate chip biscuits and an egg-free cake… well, two cakes, not by choice.

Egg-free cakes are a little more crumbly than normal. So the first cake rose a little higher than normal (I whisked a little more than I should have) and when I tipped it out onto the cooling rack, it split three ways. Back to the drawing board! The second cake cooked beautifully, but I was talking on the phone as I greased the pan and forgot to flour it as well. So while the top of the cake looked great, the bottom half stuck in the pan. Crumble and all, I iced it and decorated it, and K. loved it! And Hubby and I are quite happy to snack on the three-piece chocolate cake!

Before the picnic today, we went to the Spring fete held at the hostel where my mother-in-law lives. On Thursday night I got a call from m-in-law to ask if I could make her a hat for the Melbourne Cup lunch on Tuesday. This would mean I had to get it made by Saturday morning. I had no inspiration at all until 6.30 this morning, when I woke up and jumped straight out of bed (something I never voluntarily do!) and made her a hat, of sorts. A strip of cardboard to go round her head, six photos of racehorses cut out and placed around the cardboard, looking like they are racing each other, with the words ‘and they’re off…’ stuck at the front. Didn’t even get time to take a photo of my handy work as we had to rush to get ready to head out by 9am. Thank goodness for the Google and photo printers at home!

Creative achievements:
2 cakes
1 batch of biscuits
1 Melbourne Cup hat
Some great photos of the picnic

and a very happy m-in-law and daughter!

Actually I have one photo to share from the picnic

The birds were very cheeky. This one stuck its beak under the glad-wrap over a plate of fairy bread to take a nibble and then proceeded to munch on the left-overs on a plate, with people sitting right next to it.

Oh… and the painting of the elephant was very well received by the birthday girl. It is getting pride of place on her wall, which is really nice.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

