Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Still Life the colourful way

Leave a comment

I am doing an online class over at Wet Canvas in the Soft Pastel section, called Still Life – the Colourful Way. The class is being run by Charlie who does some amazing pastel paintings and uses some colour choices that I would never have thought to work, but they do, and so well!

Charlie stated up front – “Focusing on exploring colour – how it behaves, and how you shape forms and space and distance with it – is a fun way of approaching still-lifes.”

So far, it has helped me a lot with identifying warm and cool colours and has made me realise how much work I need to do on the values in painting – getting the darks and lights right.

Following are the my versions of the first image we are painting as part of the class.

Charlie first asked us to draw a sketch of the image she supplied of a block on some cloths. Here is the image she supplied:

And here is my original sketch (not very good shadows! Need to work on that!)

This was the final stage of the process after following Charlie’s guidelines:

This still isn’t perfect but there is a great improvement on the values and colours in this second painting.

We will move onto another painting now using the same process but refining it along the way. Using such bold colours is something I haven’t done before but it should be interesting to see how much of this process I will absorb and use in future paintings.

It’s great to be learning something new, and as I can’t get to an external class, doing something online is the next best thing.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

