Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Kitten update 12

Leave a comment

Every morning we are greeted at the backdoor by Honey and the six kittens. This morning, they were all curled up in a ball to keep warm when I opened the door. The kittens all venture inside now, some to check out the space near the back door, others to start playing. And in the evening after dinner, the kittens are ready for a play inside as well. Honey wanders in and out and quite happily leaves the kittens in our care.

Surprisingly it is Smudge (formerly Scaredy) who is enjoying time inside the house the most. We bought a couple of cat toys and he is having a ball with them, growling and hissing at the feathers on a stick that we move around for him.

Raindrop is becoming a very friendly kitten (one of the twins). He has fallen asleep on my lap twice now in the evening. I think he has worked out how nice and warm it is to sit on a lap. He is also the one that climbs up my jeans legs, and he climbed up the outside of the screen door right to the top the other day.

Oscar and Gumdrop are the two kittens that don’t stay inside the house visiting like the other kittens. They tend to wander back outside to play.

Here are Raindrop and Gumdrop asleep on top of their cardboard box bed. The towel draped over the top has become a favourite sleeping/playing place for all the kittens.

Here is Smudge on the top step, just after wandering out the back door. (I found one of the kittens sitting inside one of the empty terracotta pots on the back step last night – wish I’d had the camera then)

This was taken at 7am the other morning just after I had fed all the kittens. Button, Lollipop, Oscar and Raindrop decided I was a good place to play.

Honey has found how comfortable it is to rest on top of the sand pit and watch her kittens playing on the grass and in the garden around her.

Honey decided to have a go at me today for the first time. I just patted her, and she obviously didn’t want that so took a swipe at me. We’ll have to keep an eye on her with K. She’s only hissed at K. so far.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

