Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Colina Grant Pastel Workshop

Leave a comment

I had a really great day today at the Sydney Art School in Baulkham Hills. They ran a one-day workshop with Colina Grant, who is a wonderful pastellist.

She gave a demonstration for about an hour of how she goes about starting a pastel landscape painting, then we started on a piece of our own with her input throughout the day. It was really useful to see how she works, how she chooses what to draw and how she prepares the composition.

The Sydney Art School is fairly new but it has a great atmosphere. They provided lunch and afternoon tea in the cost of the workshop. I would highly recommend looking into their courses and giving them a try. They run a life drawing class on Wednesday nights and are starting a daytime portrait class soon, which I am going to look into.

Already the two people to whom I’ve shown my workshop painting have said that I have worked in a different way from my usual, which can only be a good thing. I’m looking forward to finishing this one. So here it is…

I used a Colourfix Plein Air board for the first time (easier to transport – built in backing board!). It has a different texture to the Colourfix paper so I will be interested to see how it ends up.

There is still some work to do. I am not one to speed through a painting, although I would like to one day just to loosen up a bit. I can’t wait to take this back to class and keep working on it.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

