Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Greyhound Pastel Painting on Velour – WIP#1

Leave a comment

After some success drawing Amy the Greyhound with pencil, today I decided to start painting her in pastel. I am using Hahnemuhle Velour paper for the first time with this. Quite a few animal pastel painters use velour paper for their animals and I wanted to see how it works for myself.

Most of the artists recommended drawing the outline of the animal on paper first and then transferring it to the velour. I wanted to get started on this today so I didn’t do that – I just drew the outline directly onto the velour with very light pressure. (I may live to regret this – we’ll see!)

Once again, I started with the eyes first. The velour really grabs onto the pastel. It was really interesting to feel the way it almost absorbs the pastel.

I moved onto the nose and then started mapping out the colours that I see in her black coat. (To me black is never all black on an animal especially where the light touches.) Amy has a similar colour coat to that of the Australian Cattle Dog I painted earlier, so some of the colours I see in her coat are green, mauve and blue.

Tomorrow night, I will continue to block in the colours of her coat and will start putting some colour into the background as well.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

