Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Self Portrait – WIP#4

1 Comment

Spent the morning at the Art & Craft group with Dawn and Maureen. Whilst they worked on their silk paintings, I kept slogging away at my self portrait. I had hoped to finish it today but we had a shorter morning as Dawn had to leave for an appointment.

From the nose up it is pretty good but there is something really wrong with the chin and/or mouth. But it is a bit better today than last time, thank goodness. Don’t you just love the straw coloured hair 🙂 !!!  That will be fixed.
One good thing to come out of working on this portrait is that I now know for sure that I am a detail oriented painter. That is my natural inclination. I’m happy to go with that for now.
Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Self Portrait – WIP#4

  1. Lainie, this is really good and you can see it's you straight away.
    For me the chin looks too angled on the far side…
    Anyway it's really amazing and you definitely know it's you straight away!!
    Keep up the really amazing work!

Thanks for leaving a comment!

