Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

All quiet round here…

Leave a comment

School holiday time so things will be quiet on the art front, except maybe some painting with K. and some craft (maybe some knitting).

I had the opportunity to go to Manly last week – just standing by the beach wall looking out to sea was so refreshing. I love being by the sea. I need to do this more often. Took a couple of quick snaps before heading off to run errands.

And K. has had a big week – her birthday week. Also, end of school term, which included a Fun Day at school (and too much pink hairspray). Birthday included a party at a playground, cupcakes at school, dinner with mum and dad on the day and an afternoon tea with the family. Her birthday seems to last a week or more!

I am still working on the Chinese Crested Dog but have had a bit of trouble with the background (my constant bugbear) so I may have to scrap the first version and start again. (For which I have been soundly castigated by a friend who loved the sketch/loose quality of the initial drawing).

Still not sure about watercolour – I don’t think it is my medium. I’ll give it another term but then I will either focus back on pastels or try acrylic or oil. I miss my pastels. Here is the latest watercolour landscape I completed. There is more I could do to it, but it just doesn’t inspire me at all. As soon as I started on the pastels, I couldn’t wait to keep working on a piece.

So, here’s hoping for a fun, and quiet at times, school holidays and I’ll drop back here if something creative pops up.

A bit of winter colour to inspire!
Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

