Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Pottery in the School Holidays

1 Comment

K. and I headed over to my local art group for an afternoon of pottery last Sunday. I wasn’t sure how she would take to it but thought it was worth trying.

We arrived at 12pm, and at 3pm she told me she was ready to go home. She was enjoying herself and so focused on making things. We stood next to each other and I was able to make some things for myself while she pottered away having a go. So I’ll post our efforts, beginners though they be.

The first thing we worked on was a bowl together. The tutor gave us a mould and let us go to it. We pressed a cotton doily into the inside of the clay and placed flat pieces and swirls all over the place and then on the outside, K. pressed her fingerprints all over the place, and poked a few holes for good measure *g*.

K. enjoyed pressing the doily into the clay so much she wanted to make a flat plate, which she then drew stars on.

She then went on to make a small bowl, a deer, some trees, a nest with eggs and a jewellery bowl with some jewels inside, and a small duck, which I finished off for her. The tutor made her a small turtle and gave it to K. to paint once it’s dry.

Here is a close up of K’s deer.

While K was making all of these I decided to have a go at a head. Sounds ambitious? Yes, but it was fun. The other students offered guidance as I went along, which was great.

I had some trouble with the eyes and as it was almost 3pm I decided I would finish this next time, which will be on Saturday afternoon, as K. wants to go again!

We dropped by the Local pottery suppliers and picked up a few tools and paints so we can finish off the pieces that we started and they can then be fired. Woo hoo! I can’t wait to see how they turn out.

Even if nothing comes of this adventure other than K. taking up pottery and I continue just with art, it has been a fun experience which I was able to share with K. But I think we both had too much fun to give up now. The only thing that might slow us down will be the cost. Pottery is not the cheapest hobby, and when you are already addicted to pastels…  I think I need to sell some paintings! My hobbies are expensive to maintain *g*!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Pottery in the School Holidays

  1. Fantastic!!!!
    Pottery is such fun and it's so great that K enjoyed herself too 🙂

Thanks for leaving a comment!

