Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Pottery Class #3

4 Comments

My mum and K. both opted out of pottery today, so I had the task of finishing painting the underglaze on all their work. That took about 1.5 hours! And then I could go back to working on Max – that’s the name that I have decided to call him today.

I had to make a stand for him and Ilona suggested a column, like in ancient Greece or Rome and I had lots of fun from there. Not sure if I’m ultimately happy with it, but it was a lot of fun making it.

Max came from the idea of putting a Roman numarl date on the small plaque which would be MMX for this year, so… Max!

I still need to put a brow on him and maybe an ear or two, depending on how ‘damaged’ he is. Or I may get to pottery next week and remove the plinth altogether. I’ll see how I feel, but it was fun working out how to do this. I used broken glass to make the broken bits on the column, which worked really well.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

4 thoughts on “Pottery Class #3

  1. personally i find the column a distraction from the beautiful simplicity of the face, but thats just me!

  2. I agree with you.

    I decided last night that I would remove it from the column. I want a flat square for it to sit on, nothing else. I'm going to fix it next weekend.

    I had a lot of fun making the column – it was a good exercise in how to do it – but I think it would suit something else better.

  3. Sometimes I find that if I have taken a photo and have a day or so away from a picture that I see things I don't when the painting is sitting in front of me. It seems it is the same with pottery for me. I need the distance the camera buts between me and the work to see what needs to be seen.

  4. i think it will be much more impressive with a simple base, its such a beautiful artwork it needs to stand alone.
    Yes distance by any method is useful, apart from time I am also photographing my paintings as I go as they are too big to see properly in my little studio.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

