Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Beau, a Kelpie – Pastel Painting (WIP#1)

Leave a comment

I started a new painting today. I am going back to the Art Spectrum Colourfix paper this time instead of velour as the last two dogs I’ve painted have been on velour and I want to see the difference in the way I work on it.

Already I can see a difference in the way I sketch onto the Colourfix. Velour is very unforgiving and sketching on it is pretty much a once only chance as pastel pencils leave marks in the velour. (I know of other artists who do their sketch on paper and transfer it once it is correct onto the velour). With Colourfix I can sketch and erase quite easily. So, today I found that my sketch took longer because I could correct it, than the last sketch I did on velour. Maybe because I knew it was a once only chance, the sketch on velour came together quickly.  It took me an hour and a half to complete this Kelpie sketch, whereas I sketched and blocked in colour on the Chinese Crested Dog in the same time.

It will be interesting to see if the painting comes together the same way, the Chinese Crested a looser painting and this one more detailed. I’ll have to wait and see…

The photos I used for both the Chinese Crested and the kelpie here were taken at Puppies on Show, a day put on by Dogs NSW at their Erskine Park headquarters. It was a day where the general public could attend and find out about the different breeds of dog and what they are like to raise at home. I got some really good photos that day.

Both the Kelpie and the Chinese Crested were owned by the breeder, who is a member of the Kelpie Club of NSW.  She was really helpful and more than happy for me to take the pictures.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

