Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Daffodils – update (WIP#4)

Leave a comment

Spent a little time on this today – K and her dad were having a swim so I sat at the picnic table under the shade of the umbrella and played with my pastels. (They ended up heading inside and left me to it!)

I worked mostly on creating a lighter background as I was unhappy with the darker one. Had some great comments from WetCanvas artists that also suggested the lighter background. Someone also suggested a more buttery yellow for the flowers and luckily (or unluckily as I would have enjoyed a trip to the art shop!) I had a soft Sennelier that is just about right.

(This is how the painting was before I changed the background)
New version after today’s work

I’m also trying to bring some more darks into the foreground – still working on this but they are making the daffies stand out a little more. Need to darken the grasses around the base of the daffy leaves and I think that will be done.

So, now that the background is lighter, I can see that it still needs something else – have to think about what!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

