Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

New Direction…

3 Comments

I have just started a Certificate IV in Visual Arts and Contemporary Craft through TAFE. I wasn’t expecting to do it this year. I decided not to apply back in October as I was going through some health issues that I wasn’t sure of the outcome at that time. About a week ago I found out that there might be a place left in the year long course, but when I contacted TAFE was told that I would go onto a waiting list.

Yesterday morning I was phoned to ask if I was still interested as someone had pulled out of the course. I was phoned at 8.30am. Orientation started at 9.30am about 20 minutes drive away. I still had to drop my daughter at school in the meantime. I had to decide to change my life, and my family’s life, for a year in a very short time.

I ummed and aahed.Ā  I had to work out child care arrangements for before and after school. I had to work out how to afford it all. I kept thinking of reasons not to do it instead of looking for reasons to do the course.

I chose to phone a friend. A very good friend. She said ‘GO!!!’Ā  She cut through the chaff as I knew she would. I needed to hear that. Everyone needs a friend like her.

I made it to orientation 40 minutes late, but late is better than not at all. Better than sitting at home regretting the decision not to do the course. And today I started Art History and Printmaking. Tomorrow is Photography and Painting.

It is going to be a challenge. But that’s not a negative!

I am going to feel guilty about leaving my daughter in care – I feel great sympathy for those mums who have to leave their kids in care for the week while they go to work. But as she is an only child, the interaction with other kids for a morning and afternoon will be good for her.

I am going to feel nervous about new techniques and media. But I’m looking forward to it too.

I am going to have fun.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “New Direction…

  1. and I'm going to have fun with you!!
    I'm so glad we're doing this šŸ™‚
    See ya tomorrow!!

  2. Oh you won't regret your decision..as hard as it is..you will have fun. Enjoy and don't forget to let your blog buddies know how you are doing once in a while!

  3. Thanks Kay. I'll be posting work I get done throughout the year so I'll be updating the blog once a week I hope at least. I have been a stay at home mum since my daughter was born so getting used to the three full days again is going to be interesting.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

