Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Ceramics – Ritual Vessel – WIP#5

Leave a comment

After a busy class today I am ready to start putting design onto the pot. I spent quite a bit of time making six tiles, carving them and painting them with glazes to use as test tiles. And then I was able to move on with completing the handles.

The Chinese ritual vessel I am basing this pot on had handles that were made into dragons, their mouth clasping the neck of the pot, their tails draped down onto the curve of the pot. Dragons don’t fit in with my overall design so I had to come up with something that worked. After quite a bit of playing the tulips are what I came up with and they have worked, which made me very happy.

I will have to have a bit of a play with textures and lines to finish them off but they are exactly what I envisioned.

Hopefully I will complete most of the design work on the pot next week. I am really enjoying ceramics. I can’t wait to move back into more self-directed design rather than within such strict guidelines, but I am more than happy to be learning the techniques to make that possible.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

