Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Drawing – Interiors Triptych complete

Leave a comment

Today was the last day to work on the interiors triptych in class time – and I finished. I only had a few minor corrections to make, which was great.

I have really enjoyed doing these drawings, even though they were so detailed. The middle of the three drawings was the first that I completed. It is mostly in graphite with a small amount of charcoal. It took a long time, much longer than I was happy with. For the next drawing I decided to do more charcoal – and I was so pleased with the outcome and the shorter length of time it took to complete the drawing. Instead of seven hours, it only took four! A big difference when you don’t have a lot of time outside of class to complete work.

And so, because of the success of the second drawing, I decided to use mostly charcoal in the final one as well. I can see the difference between the first and the final drawing. I felt much more relaxed about using the charcoal and just went with where it took me, and whilst I love graphite, I think I am hooked on charcoal.

The other good thing about this triptych is that the building where I took the photos will be torn down in a few years to make way for new premises. These will be a reminder of the great times had in the old art and craft rooms.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

