Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Painting – Mixed Media Portraits

1 Comment

I chickened out in the last post and decided not to post the portrait I initially painted in class on Friday. I am really unhappy with it – so much so I decided to have another go. Luckily, I took a photo to work from as my class mate is not at home with me this weekend *g*.

Here is the first portrait I did. I didn’t draw in any shapes, just basic marks for top of head, chin, eyes and then started using watercolour. It is not a good painting at all. The face is twisted and the eyes to mouth are out of alignment. But I experimented and I feel more comfortable with watercolour after playing as I did with this portrait.

So here is my second attempt. I worked on it for about an hour and a half, about the same time as I worked on the other one in class. This time I drew in the face, and main features.

Now this is more like it! For an hour and a half’s painting I am more than happy with this. I have had to relearn how to use watercolour and I am now feeling more confident with the way our teacher has taught us. I was initially taught to water down the colour a lot and then build up layers of colour to get what I wanted. What we have been shown now is to just go for it and water down the colour as we go if needed.

I am not saying that I love watercolour now, that I am converted, but I am much happier about using it after playing at home without the pressure of finishing within class time.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Painting – Mixed Media Portraits

  1. Absolutely fantastic… your 2nd portrait is really great and captures your classmate well.
    Very nice!!

Thanks for leaving a comment!

