Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Ceramics – Slab Bowl – WIP#2

3 Comments

Had to get down to the design work on the slab bowl today. Was feeling really blocked and couldn’t come up with anything that I wanted to work on, so left the class and had a walk around to clear my head. Really glad I did that as I was able to come up with a design that I am really happy with, and went back into class and started building.

Here are the results so far…

There will also be hands on either side of the bowl towards the front with the fingers grasping the sides as if the woman is climbing out of the bowl. I have thought of calling it ‘coming up for air’ – but I’m still thinking about that.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Ceramics – Slab Bowl – WIP#2

  1. from my perspective, the design is already so complete, especially if you are making an object to be functional and used. I particularly love the asymmetrical hair, might be worth taking that balance into consideration when you work out how and where to place hands. You have to follow your vision of course.

  2. It is not meant to be functional, so I am not worried about being able to use it for anything, except maybe to fill it with water and see the effect.

    Thanks for the suggestion about the placement of the hands – I hadn't thought about it much yet but will look at the asymmetry of it. Maybe I'll just put one. Anyway, something to think about.

  3. i imagined it as quite flat! Not being disrespectful, but a version of this design would be cool with some dip in the mouth and cheese and olives in the hair gaps, water crackers around the face šŸ™‚

Thanks for leaving a comment!

