Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Art in the early morning – Drawing with Oil Pastels

Leave a comment

For some reason I have been waking up way too early in the morning the last few days – but I am not going to complain. I have had the most fun. Everyone else was asleep, except the cats, but they soon snacked and dozed off again. I set myself up at my easel and got out the oil pastels to continue working on my current class project – complimentary opposite landscape triptych.

This morning, I pretty much finished the purple/yellow one. I’ll take it to class this week and my teacher will soon spot anything else I need to do, but I think it is pretty much done.

And I started on the green/red landscape as well…

I have decided to do something a little different with this one, a little Van Gogh-esque.  It is a lot of fun this making marks with oil pastels. I am still surprised by how much I am enjoying it and how freeing it is to just put marks on the paper. Sure, I still need to have an idea of where to put what colour, but these three works are coming together really well for me. With the green/red, I love the way the sky and trees seem to loom over the rest of the landscape. I’ll be interested to see if it still does that once the foreground colours are in. There will be a field of red poppies in the foreground, so I can’t wait to see how that looks.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

