Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Oil pastel sketch – Ranunculus

3 Comments

Last night, I sat up in bed, watched an episode of Project Runway and sketched with oil pastels. I’m enjoying playing with these a lot more than I thought I would. Now that I am getting a feel for how they go onto the paper, it is fun to sketch.

This is from a picture I took in my garden a year or two ago. I’ve been wanting to draw it for a while.

The main flower is a little out of proportion but I am really happy with the way the colours came together. A few minor adjustments and it is finished.

The sketch is about 9″ square, on Canson Mi-Teintes.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Oil pastel sketch – Ranunculus

  1. LOVE the diagonals you've got going in this piece – real movement.

    I've not sketched with oil pastels since primary school days and the old Sakura Cray Pas sets. I do have a couple of unopened sets here and may just give it a go after seeing your lovely work.

    Taught a lovely group today with regular pastels today – some virgins not only with pastels, but with any form of painting! Terror turned to joy by the end when they had a finsished piece on their easel.

    Gotta love art hey?

  2. Soft pastels are my first love, but the OPs are growing on me. There is a freedom to them that I don't have with the softies. I love the detail I get with the softies, but I am growing to love the loose feel of the OPs.

    Pastels are a great way to introduce painting to people. Are you going to post some pics from the class?

  3. Have a pastel class tomorrow – don't know how camera shy they will be, but I'll try!

    Looking forward to seeing more of your work in OP.

    Cheers,

    Cindy

Thanks for leaving a comment!

