Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Knitting – all-in-one blanket

2 Comments

In the time I get to stop and sit (not as often as I’d like lately) I usually like to have something to do – cross stitch, knitting, a crossword puzzle. Knitting is a strong favourite as I can also sit in front of the TV and knit – without making too many mistakes along the way. 🙂

I have been knitting this blanket for a couple of months, off and on. It is in Patons Shadow Tweed, which is about 14ply, 50% wool/50% acrylic. I love that as it is a variegated wool, each square has knitted up differently, so it still looks like a patchwork of squares. My step mum knits these blankets, but she uses multiple colours – they look fantastic, but sooooo many ends to sew in at the end. I like that this has a lot fewer ends to finish off.

I only have one square to finish now, a bit of sewing to hide the ends and it will be done, just in time to be put away for next winter! 🙂

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Knitting – all-in-one blanket

  1. Beautiful, just like a wwatercolour painting. Can’t wait to see how your glaze turns out on your previous post.

    • Thanks Cindy. The wool knitted up really beautifully – even better than it did on the jacket I bought the wool for originally. I’ll post a pic of the glaze next Weds once I collect the work from the kiln room.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

