Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Printmaking – Lino Cut Dreams

1 Comment

We are starting our new Printmaking project after a couple of weeks of design and development. We were able to choose how we did this print – but had to choose from Lino cut, monoprint, reduction lino or collagraph. A few of the others in class were disappointed we didn’t get the choice to do screen printing, but I had always thought I’d like to do another lino cut anyway.

Dream is the topic – so we could go down many pathways with this one. A real dream, dreams of the future, nightmares, day dreams, the surreal… the list goes on. It is going to be fascinating to see where this takes each of us. I always like to see what the others in class come up with.

My daughter is a major part of my life and she has played a significant role in some of my art for this year. She is centre stage with this one again.

I don’t know how this is going to work out, but it is definitely slightly surreal.

This is the detail of the waves. It is taking a long time and was probably a bit ambitious to do all this detail. The whole print is about A3 size. I will hopefully finish cutting this before Thursday so I can do a test print and make any minor adjustments before printing the edition of 5 that I have to hand in for assessment.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Printmaking – Lino Cut Dreams

  1. I think this is going to be amazing… keep at it! 😀

Thanks for leaving a comment!

