Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Painting – Almost cubist?

2 Comments

After preparing our sketches for this painting (see Experimental painting) I arrived in class with my collage and canvas, ready to get started.

As I was early I decided to sketch the collage, to get a feel for how the sketch onto canvas would look.

The original collage sketch was a lot messier and harder to see the shapes, so I’m glad I had the time to do this.

Using yellow ochre, I then sketched this onto the canvas (24″x36″).

Then I mixed a blue/black (burnt umber and ultramarine blue) and thinned it with painting medium and water and put a wash across the background. I liked the blue/black so much I made a couple of lighter tones of that, and using them in a more opaque form, I painted on a couple of blocks of colour. (Sorry the picture is not too clear – taken under fluorescent lighting in the classroom).

The lines and shadows are burnt umber/ultramarine blue too, but this time I used a more burnt umber. The oddly shaped guitar is burnt sienna/yellow ochre and white.

Now I just have to work out the colour scheme for the rest of it. I am thinking that I will go with a limited palette, so there won’t be too many more colours.

We spent a bit of time in class looking at some artists work including Mondrian, Kandinsky, Picasso and Cezanne, looking in particular at the skewed perspective that led to the Cubist style. I’ve never been particularly fond of Picasso and the Cubist style, but at least I can understand it more now.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Painting – Almost cubist?

  1. Wow – this is going to be fantastic! You certainly are channelling all that Cubist mojo!

    LOVE that linocut as well – divine!

  2. Thanks Cindy. I’m certainly enjoying the printmaking at the moment – I love lino cut.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

