Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Printmaking – Playing with paper

Leave a comment

I have completed all the assessable projects for Printmaking for my course – with 3 weeks to spare. So my teacher said it was time to play – choose some papers or fabrics to print my lino cut onto, and just experiment.

And today, that is what I did. Last week, as well as printing my edition of 5 using the press, I also printed another edition of 3 by handprinting. I am so happy with the handprinting that this week I have done some more – on a whole range of papers.

Coloured papers, textured papers, mulberry, silk  – each one has turned out well, each with different characteristics. One even looks as though it is in a snowstorm due to the texture of the paper. I even tried out one in red ink too, although I prefer the black.

I went to the art shop this afternoon on the way home – and bought some more papers. Can’t wait to see how they turn out next week.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

