Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Watercolour Pencil Sketch: Santa’s Coming

Leave a comment

Ho, ho… ho? Christmas is arriving a little too fast for me this year.

Only two weeks and my daughter will finish school. In that time I need to make Chocolate Shortbread for her to give to her teachers, buy Christmas presents for the family – no time to make them this year 😦  and clean up our art supply smothered house, which will involve a major spring clean and turf out of all things unnecessary.

I also have three 50th birthdays, a 21st birthday, a 70-something birthday and possibly a stay-over visit from my s-i-l and family before Christmas.

Luckily Christmas lunch is not at my house this year.

Tonight we are going to put up the Christmas tree – woo hoo! My favourite thing to do at this time of year. I did remember the advent calendar last night so had time to fill it with goodies ready for little miss to discover this morning.

And when she goes to bed tonight it will be Christmas Carols sung in unison – be glad you are not there! although we do have fun. πŸ™‚

Update (9pm): This is as far as we got tonight with the tree…

Normally we’d put the star on last, but K. really wanted the tree up and decorated tonight so that was our compromise. Tomorrow afternoon this authentic fake tree will be covered in tinsel and other assorted Xmas trinkets. I promise! πŸ™‚

And hopefully the tree will stay upright overnight. One of our three cats – the largest one – has a propensity to climb this tree annually. There are several broken branches hidden in the greenery already. (Good thing we don’t bring in a real tree or it would definitely be a goner – have you seen Simon’s Cat? That is my cat too!). Here’s hoping the tree lasts out this year. I think it will be time for a new one next year.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

