Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Aussie Style Family Christmas

2 Comments

Salads were the order of the day, along with prawns, oysters, ham and turkey. Note the paper plates – no-we are not cheap, but who wants to spend the afternoon on Christmas Day washing up!
Home made Christmas Pudding – the same recipe has been used since my great-grandmother’s day
My sister-in-law makes the best trifle – her family and mine will attest to that!
Pavlova, the second best Christmas dessert, after pudding – and it is fantastic for breakfast on Boxing Day!

You will probably note the emphasis on the dessert! LOL

Christmas Lunch lasted until dinner time, and a great day was had by all! And no, we didn’t spend all day eating (even though it felt like we ate all day!), just needed some time between courses.

My daughter woke us up at 6am – thankfully I had told her the night before not to disturb us before six – she was awake from 5.30am! We spent the morning opening and then playing with our gifts before getting ready to head over to my brother’s house. I was worried I’d spend the afternoon asleep on the floor, but I managed to keep my eyes open (even if some members of my family didn’t).

The best part of Christmas – spending the day with my family. We don’t all get together that often as we all lead busy lives.  And I received a few nice presents to boot. What more could I ask for?

How did you spend your day?

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Aussie Style Family Christmas

  1. I was with you 100%, especially the paper plates, until I spotted…. can hardly even write it…. FRUIT IN THE TRIFLE! Sorry, we are on opposite sides of the great Aussie dessert divide there!!!! Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.
    😦

Thanks for leaving a comment!

