Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Sketch: Daffodil in texta?

2 Comments

K. and I spent some time doing craft this afternoon, so I thought I’d make use of the opportunity to do a sketch. So I used what was to hand – textas!

They are not as forgiving as crayons, coloured pencils or pastels, but it was fun to try and see what I could do.

On a cardboard door-hanger, drawn from memory.

I’d probably need to treat textas like watercolour and leave what I wanted white, white, in future. Didn’t think of that at the time, just drew. K. kept asking why I was mixing other colours in with my greens – a great opportunity to explain a bit about colours. Whether she’ll remember it, who knows, but knowing her she will have absorbed it and I won’t know when she will make use of it, it will just happen.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Sketch: Daffodil in texta?

  1. Ahh, the old Connector Pens – we must have at least 5000 of them in a box somewhere….

    Great piece Elaine, I bet you both had a ball playing with them. Sorry for taking so long to get back to you about the Camera. I sue a Canon DSLR 400D, bought early 2008 with twin lenses (Image Stabilised). It’s old by today’s standards – technology chnages overnight!

    The guy at the camera shop said “You’ll never take a bad picture with a Canon”. And this was as I was returning the Nikon I only had for a week (dead pixels on the sensor).

    Heres to many more drawings in 2012!

  2. Thanks Cindy.

    My snapshot camera is a Canon Ixus, which I love – best camera I have ever used, and one of my first ‘proper’ cameras was a Canon demi, which my grandfather, an avid photographer gave to me when I was about 16. I am torn between the Canon and a Nikon at the moment for a dslr, so I am always interested to hear about cameras used by people who take great photos.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

