Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Daily sketching: a goal for 2012

2 Comments

I have decided, without really deciding (if that is possible) that I am going to sketch everyday. I know it will improve my drawing, as I have proven over the last year where I was drawing almost everyday as part of my TAFE course.

I hesitated putting it into words, admitting the goal, as sometimes the pressure of having to create and post something everyday can lead to not creating at all. At least, for me.

I was reading a post over at Scribblah, about this very thing –

People often say to me that they’d like to keep a sketchbook but they don’t know what to draw. DRAW ANYTHING! AND EVERYTHING! Why does there have to be something special to draw?

So here are a couple of my ‘nothing special’ sketches for yesterday and today…

Boy do I feel old when I see the wrinkles appearing on my fingers! 🙂

I did this sketch with my left hand, just to see if I can draw something recognisable with that hand. A bit wonky but it looks like a thumb!

Both sketches completed in a small Faber Castell sketch book with Zig Millenium pen.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Daily sketching: a goal for 2012

  1. Great stuff – keep going and thanks for mentioning my blog 🙂 The wrinkle thing gets worse because the more you look the more you see – all those tiny fine wrinkles that you don’t normally notice lol That’s what makes us artists I think, we’re the ultimate observers.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

