Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Daily sketch: Little Birdie

4 Comments

So, today I haven’t drawn from life. I have used a reference courtesy of Wet Canvas Reference Image Library.

17cmx18cm, graphite, in my Strathmore visual diary.

A year or so ago I tried my hand at a bird in pastel, using a reference from a calendar. I was very happy with the result, but haven’t gone back and tried a bord since. So I browsed through the reference library and came across a few images I would like to tackle in pastel, this being one of them.

I don’t have a good enough camera to get out and take good pictures of the small birds in my area, and now that we have three cats, we don’t see the little wrens and sparrows as much anymore, which is a real pity. So I really appreciate the generosity of the artists on WetCanvas in sharing their photos.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

4 thoughts on “Daily sketch: Little Birdie

  1. Nice sketch Elaine. It looks like a wren. There is some quiet beauty in plain black and white sketches. It’s a pity that artist aren’t encouraged enough to sketch on a regular basis.
    Very recently my dear kitty passed away and while looking for some sketches I knew I had done of her, I was surprised by finding many more than I thought I had. Needless to say they brought back very good memories.

    • Thanks Adriana. I found the pic on Wet Canvas but the photographer didn’t say what kind of bird it was, which was a pity. I thought it could be a wren, but… 🙂

      I’m really enjoying sketching. I haven’t done a lot of it in the past, but I’m finding I need something regimented, a daily exercise, because of missing the day to day of art school. As my daughter is home from school it is hard to find solid time to sit and paint or draw for any length of time, so until she returns to school I think sketching is the best option. And I’m enjoying playing with different media and seeing what I can do with them – the texta was fun! I’m going to get the ink out and a stick next week and have a play with sketching with that. And maybe we’ll sit down and play with crayon with K. one day too – I’ll have to post her work as well as mine, I think.

      • And I forgot to say… I agree with you about the good memories that can be found in amongst your drawings. I’m sorry to hear about your cat – always hard to say farewell to a beloved pet.

  2. Elaine that’s just lovely! Nice composition as well.

    I’m with you with “putting goals out there”. The stress can be paralysing!

Thanks for leaving a comment!

