Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Daily Sketch: Food in focus…maybe

Leave a comment

Here are my sketches for yesterday and today. I didn’t get time to post anything yesterday so this is a catch up.

Last of the Xmas Pud – graphite in Strathmore visual diary.

This was quick and in taking the photo I realised that I didn’t lay the plate down flat enough. I didn’t do as much work on the background as I’d have liked. But that is okay as this is just a sketch. Hopefully as I work through this year my sketching will improve, just as my drawing did over the last twelve months.

I also need to get over my ‘must get it right or not at all’ feeling – no more tearing up sketches I don’t like. 🙂

Three Tomatoes, conte crayon in Strathmore Visual Diary

Quite happy with the two front tomatoes, like their shape. I haven’t sketched in conte before. They certainly feel different to soft pastels – and there is less dust! Will have to experiment some more with these. Only spent about 15 minutes on these, so with more time they would improve.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

