Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Creating in the Kitchen

3 Comments

I bought a new toy yesterday – an electric mixer. You’d think that with cooking cakes for children I’d already have had one, wouldn’t you?

I had my grandmother’s old Sunbeam mixer for years, but when my mum’s identical one died a few years ago I gave it to her so she didn’t immediately have to go out and buy a new one. And I haven’t really thought about it much since then. I’ve just continued to cream the butter and sugar by hand (good thing I haven’t been wanting to make pavlova or meringue lately).

At Christmas when I had to make several batches of chocolate shortbread, I had to do a lot of mixing, and my shoulder let me know it wasn’t happy, especially after the constant use over the last year at art school (I’ve never had problems from my arthritis in my shoulder until now). So, I mentioned to my husband that I thought he could get me a mixer for mother’s day this year, and he said, if we need one, just get it – so I did!

Cupcakes this morning for my daughter and her friends – cleaning up the bowl was very tasty!

And it’s RED!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Creating in the Kitchen

  1. wow, that is a magnificent thing!!
    I think Bim’s old Sunbeam is still at Mum’s, I’d bring it over but it weighs a ton and the electricity connections are different. Still making do with a hand held, but a food processor does a good job of basic cake mix, especially when there is no SR flour to be had in Germany and baking powder has to be mixed through very well.
    Glad you choose red šŸ™‚

    • I went specifically looking for a red one – and this was the only red one I saw, it was on sale, and it was exactly the kind of mixer I wanted, simple to use and clean. I really enjoyed using it today. Now I’ll have to see what else I want to make with it!

Thanks for leaving a comment!

