Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Photography: Black Swans

3 Comments

Over the years I’ve seen a lot of illustrations and cards that have two swans with necks entwined to form a heart, but I hadn’t ever seen it in real life (or maybe I did but haven’t really looked before). So when I was visiting Bicentennial Park at Homebush in Sydney, I took this photo, not quite the perfect heart shape but I can see where all those images come from.

The lake at Bicentennial Park is full of giant eels and carp and has a lot of water birds as well – the eels and fish are so fat because people keep feeding the birds. One of the park volunteers said that they have to ask people to stop feeding the birds as the eels are getting dangerously big and will kill the smaller birds. My camera wasn’t good enough to catch a good pic of the eels underwater, but they were huge!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Photography: Black Swans

  1. I’ve seen swans make a heart once before in Bruges but a boat went by and disturbed them as I was trying to take a picture…I’ve never seen black swans though, they’re beautiful!

    • I haven’t been this close to black swans before, they were beautiful. There was also a young swan, past the cygnet stage, but beautiful also. I think I was lucky to capture this picture.

  2. It’s a really beautiful image, there red beaks are so striking. I had been thinking about doing some duck / swan reflection images. This has made me want to go back to that.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

