Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Painting: Watercolour Class #2

2 Comments

The class today went as well as last time, although I think there was more talking today than doing… but that’s not a bad thing either as we learnt a lot about techniques and we had to wait a bit between glazes.

But I will backtrack and show you the work we did in the first lesson where we covered flat washes, multi-colour washes (any colours we wanted to try) and a three colour wash (yellow, red, blue) in preparation to use them for a landscape. All of these have been done on Arches medium or rough paper.

(Sorry the pics aren’t the best, but I need to get a good set-up for photographing my work and haven’t had a chance to get it organised yet. Anyone got any good suggestions on how to set this up easily at home without too much expense?)

I will include here a sample of a three colour wash I did on student grade paper with a cheap No.24 watercolour round brush…

… you can see the result – yuck! So I fully understand why Leanne says to use the best paper you can afford.

All of the three colour washes, except for the first one, I did at home. The first one was so pale that I knew I had to have a few more tries. I need to learn to start with more colour in my washes.

And today we moved onto glazes…

Using one colour (I used Cotman Cobalt blue hue) We had to make enough wash to lay flat washes one on top of the other, allowing it to dry completely in between glazes. I managed to get four on today, but need to add a couple more. I also think I will do this exercise again as my ‘hills’ are a little wonky as I was more worried about how I laid the wash down than the curves I made. 🙂 But I do like the way the colour was developing some movement in the foreground as each new layer of glazing was applied.

We will add some tree detail to give some depth to this painting. That’s where I need to get up to this week before next class if I can. Leanne used a filbert brush to do the trees, which looks easy to use but I bet it will give me trouble.

Still feeling positive about this class though, looking forward to next Thursday!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Painting: Watercolour Class #2

  1. Looking forward to seeing more. It’s really interesting to watch the process and progress, thank you.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

