Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Painting: Glazing with watercolour

1 Comment

I have been playing with glazing this week, preparing for my next class on Thursday.

It has been fun to see if I can ‘get it right!’

Using one colour, I have created waves on the page like this (this is the one I did last class)…I completed another one in Cobalt Blue and decided to try some more using a mix of indigo and a violet.

One of the things Leanne told us was to make sure that each wash was completely dry before laying down another layer of wash. So , whilst I tried to make sure of this, a couple of times it wasn’t quite dry and also in one instance I didn’t quite get rid of all the excess water at the bottom of the painting, so there was a bit of bloom. Whilst I need to try not to let this happen, they create some interesting effects on the paper.

I also did a small experiment by wetting a sheet of watercolour paper and then adding colour, spraying with a fine mist and moving the sheet around to get runs and changes in the way the colour moved across the page. My daughter liked this so much she decided to help me. This was the outcome…

Hopefully I’ll get to play some more with this before Thursday. I’ll keep you posted.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Painting: Glazing with watercolour

  1. Hi, I love your watercolour wash experiments. I’m a graphic designer from Ireland and would love to use one for the background of a poster if you were interested?

Thanks for leaving a comment!

