Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Drawing: Three Little Owls

2 Comments

I was hunting around for some paper for watercolour class in my art room yesterday and found a drawing that  I had tucked away, not quite finished. Thought I’d share…

A5 size, on Arches watercolour paper, Micron Pen

Three Tawny Frogmouths, from a reference photo I took at Featherdale Wildlife Park in Sydney.

I think I will had some tonal washes to this to finish it off.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Drawing: Three Little Owls

  1. These are cool owls. I saw a video recently of one of these being petted by a woman and it was happy. I think the level of detail here is just right. The lines on the owls give a good indication of feathers without overworking it since, using a black pen, the more lines you use the darker they’ll get.

    • Thanks. At the wildlife park where I took the ref picture, there are about 10 of these tawny frogmouths that sit in an area open to everyone. I must admit that I haven’t tried to pat one. I did pat one of the kookaburras that was sitting on a rail nearby – they are almost tame within the park.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

