Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Ceramics: Sculpture Workshop

1 Comment

After a bit of a hiccup in the proceedings…

(My fingernail met with a peeler whilst getting dinner ready last night – eeeuuwwwww!)

… and a visit to the doctor this morning to get my finger dressed, I headed to a ceramics sculpture workshop with Suzy Jorgensen. There was no way I was going to give up without at least making some attempt to build something. Sitting and watching wasn’t going to be fun.

So armed with some glad wrap and masking tape, I covered my finger and had a go.

We are working on vertical sculptures that can be glued together or mounted over a rod for stability. I am hoping to glue mine, but I’ll see how it continues tomorrow.

I am starting with a basket shape. This was my second attempt. The first one didn’t work at all, and luckily as I am using paper clay, I just started again. I am now an expert at weaving clay!

Next I started on what will be going into the basket… an apple.

This is the first of probably five apples, so I will have a busy apple making day tomorrow.The apples are made using two pinch pots joined together and then slowly shaped. I seem to be drawn to apples at the moment.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

One thought on “Ceramics: Sculpture Workshop

  1. Pingback: Ceramics: Sculpture Workshop (continued) « Mississhippi's Madness

Thanks for leaving a comment!

