Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Drawing: Light and Shade series

4 Comments

This is the first in a series of drawings I am going to do based on light and shade and seeing what I can do with it in a drawing and how I can render it. I posted part of this drawing a few weeks ago, and have decided to post the full picture now it is done.

It was fun to set this up and play with the lighting, even though my set up at home was a little awkward.

And it was great to sit down with graphite again and just draw.

I had some difficulty to get this to look right in Photoshop, so that will be a learning curve too. It is still not quite like the drawing but it is closer than the photo I started with.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

4 thoughts on “Drawing: Light and Shade series

  1. the shading and the colouring is really good, you have some real skill 🙂 i think that you have given it real depth and that means i feel as if i could pick up the jug myself 🙂
    really special! keep drawing

    • Thank you very much. I really enjoyed drawing this. I fell in love with this jug in a shop just recently, and because it had a chip, they sold it for half price. I didn’t want to use it as a jug, just draw it, so it didn’t matter to me about the chip! lol

  2. It’s a lovely drawing, such depth and realism.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

