Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Craft: Knitting a Purple Blanket

6 Comments

In my spare time, ie when I sit down and watch TV, I like to have some knitting on hand. So right now I have two blankets on the go, with a purple one taking precedence at the moment.

I love that I can knit this all in one go without having to join the squares together later, and I love the colours! Only drawback is having to stitch all the ends in when I’m finished knitting.

My daughter has already asked if she can have it when I’m done – I think I may have to do a second one.

I’m knitting this is 8ply on 4.5mm needles and the wool is from Lincraft – Cosy Wool 100g balls.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

6 thoughts on “Craft: Knitting a Purple Blanket

  1. Beautiful start on the blanket – you’re so neat!

    And SNAP! I made a purple woollen blanket once, only I crocheted it. I used the multi coloured wool that was a whole range of purple tones. It used to live on our purple couch, and everyone wanted it during winter, especially the kitties.

    When we moved to Cairns I let them have it with them, as they were kennelled for a few weeks, and when they came out I decided to leave it with the animal shelter as they were in desperate need of blankets. I’m missing it in the evenings now and the chill sets in.

    Your lucky daughter!

    • I wish I could crochet. I’ve tried to learn a few times, but keep going back to knitting. You are going to have to get out your crochet hook and make yourself a new one! šŸ™‚

  2. Im allergic to wool so I have issues, but its a very funky blanket. Knitting is so hot right now, I have several friends seriously into it, I can crochet but my tension sux. Now Im teaching myself how to bobbin lace, how crazy is that!

    Love the colours BTW, all the different shades of purple and plum šŸ™‚

    • I love to knit with cotton. I got into it in a big way because my daughter gets eczema and they recommend you don’t use wool. I bought some chunky cotton from the US and I knitted dishcloths and also hats for winter (don’t really need heavy wool in Sydney). They had some really great colours.
      I can’t crochet either. And good on you for trying bobbin lace – so complicated – but soo beautiful.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

