Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Craft: A Little Holiday Knitting

2 Comments

My daughter and I headed up to the NSW mid north coast for a weeks’ holiday, arriving home yesterday. We stayed on a farm with relatives near Nambucca Heads.

It was quite cool up there – they have a wood fire which was wonderful! We spent afternoons at the beach collecting shells, paddling and rock climbing. We spent an afternoon wandering around Bellingen, a really pretty town, and other times just I lazed around whilst the kids played.

I took some knitting along with me. I have decided to knit my daughter’s teacher a scarf for Xmas (starting early this year – for once). I’ve given her teacher something handmade each year rather than buy something. They have all appreciated it so far.

I was shown a really simple, yet pretty scarf pattern by one of the women at my craft group the other week and decided to give it a go – here it is:

Scarf pattern:
Cast on an odd number of stitches (I used 25 and 29 for the two I knitted)
Row 1, 2 and 3: Knit
Row 4: Knit 2, yarn over, knit 2 together
Keep repeating Rows1-4 until you reach the desired length for the scarf.
Cast off.

How easy is that?

I used a needle larger than that required for the yarn I used, which made it a nice loose knit.

One of my nieces really liked the scarf I was knitting, so I said if I can get a matching wool for her school uniform I’d knit her a scarf. We found some the next day, so I started on her scarf and put the teacher’s aside. With a night to spare, I finished her scarf. It took me about 6 hours at most to knit it up.

I had already knitted a blue one which was for my daughter but she wasn’t really interested in it, so I gave it to my other niece, who was very happy, and it matched her school uniform.

Sitting in front of a wood fire on a cold night, knitting and in good company…who could ask for a better winter holiday?

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Craft: A Little Holiday Knitting

  1. Thanks for the digital art idea!! I am one of your newer followers and I used this idea with my kiddos. Thanks for the memories. Check out the results: cowsgomooandducksgoquack.blogspot.com

    • Hi Gianne, glad that tux paint is a hit with your girls. I’ll post anything else I find that is good for kids. You have a lot of really good ideas on your blog. your girls look like they have a lot of fun.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

