Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Painting: Crabapples (WIP#2)

2 Comments

Decided to do some more work on the acrylic crabapples today. It was fun as I had company at my local art & craft group.

I painted in the yellow for the crabapples and started a background wash of burnt umber, ultramarine blue, with a touch of alizarin.

Then I decided to try and get some of the red onto the crabapples. This didn’t work out as I had hoped. I can see too much of the strokes from the gesso showing through. I didn’t use enough paint to cover the apples so will do them again next time. It will be trial and error as I know we didn’t really cover a lot of acrylic techniques last year, but luckily I can paint over anything that doesn’t work.

At least I have grounded the fruit on the table surface well – they are not floating in space!

A few more washes in the background should get that to the way I want it to look. And I just need to play a bit more with the colour of the fruit. The light yellow here is not quite right. Will work on that.

But it is progress and that is what’s important.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

2 thoughts on “Painting: Crabapples (WIP#2)

  1. Pingback: Le Art Studio

  2. Pingback: September 5 – Puddles 2 continue « Le Art Studio

Thanks for leaving a comment!

