Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Photography: Gardening in your 80s

5 Comments

I met a really lovely lady yesterday in the gardens at the hostel/retirement village where my mother-in-law lives – she was turning 86 next week. She lives in a self-care unit still and maintains several garden areas, and she admitted to me that she carries her mobile phone around in the garden now in case she has a fall and no one sees her. (My mother who is younger than this still has trouble working out how to use her mobile!) The gardens I was wandering in are maintained by residents who love to garden. They are like a community garden, each resident having a plot in which they can grow whatever they like.

I took a few photos in the garden – I wish I had taken my dslr with me as there were some beautiful things growing and coming into bloom. Just my Canon Ixus 970IS , which takes very good photos for a compact.

This tree is covered in blossom. I can’t believe how early it is.

The sun was getting lower in the sky and this rhubarb just glowed in the light. The gardeners had potatoes, tomatoes, spinach, cauliflower, cabbage, broad beans and many other vegetables growing, and they all looked so healthy!

Sweet pea – this was just beginning to flower. It is going to look fantastic in a week or so. (You can see some of the garden beds in the background of this shot. I was concentrating on the blooms not the gardens)

My favourite flower – the Ranunculus. These are blooming very early. I haven’t even got buds on mine yet.

More ranunculus. There were some other colours flowering but it was hard to manouver my way into the garden.

A poppy

I love poppy buds, they look like alien creatures of some kind πŸ™‚

I have included this here as I think it really great that the owners of the retirement village are spending money to make it easier for some of the elderly people to still garden after they are unable to bend down, or get down on their knees. These are very new so it will be interesting to see how they are filled.

I think I will take the dslr with me to the retirement village in a few weeks just to see how things are progressing in the garden and to more deliberately take photos. My daughter was with me and I had to keep one eye on her so just snapped these quickly.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

5 thoughts on “Photography: Gardening in your 80s

  1. That first shot of the pink blossom is GORGEOUS, got the lighting just right, and I also love the first ranunculus with the anthers all tight and closed up around the centre.

    Looks like a good place to keep going back to for many more photo opportunities.

    • Thanks Stacy. The tree was absolutely covered. Most of the blossoms aren’t out quite that much yet – and this was only half an hour from where I live, so it is not like the weather should be that different.

      I also enjoyed the conversation a lot. I had never seen a broad bean plant before – there were quite a few growing – so I asked this wonderful lady and then we kept chatting. A nice way to spend a little time in the afternoon.

      • Never seen a broad bean plant? We grew them nearly every year as they grow like weeds. I hated the taste as a kid, still won’t eat them πŸ™‚

      • I’ve seen small plants – my daughter sprouted one at school which had a few leaves and a single stem, but it died soon after coming home from neglect. These plants were over 5 feet tall. If broad beans aren’t that tasty, I don’t mind never having seen one before πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Orchids and Succulents in the September Garden. | small house/BIG GARDEN

Thanks for leaving a comment!

