Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Photography: Making Spheres

6 Comments

After reading a tutorial over at Leanne Cole’s Photography Field Trips on making spheres with Photoshop, I have been playing. (I may not be able to walk much at the moment, but I can sit at a PC and play!)

It was a really interesting experiment. I wasn’t sure which photos would work best so I tried a range of photos to see what would happen. Some worked better than others. I thought I’d share some of them here, including the original reference I used.

The first pic I used was one I took in Bowraville NSW earlier this year…

I knew there would be an asymmetry to this but thought it would be interesting to see what Photoshop did with this using Leanne’s instructions.I realised a few things with this one – that if something in the photo reaches to the top edge of the picture, the sphere process draws lines of that colour out to the edge of the image (see the bottom of the picture), so it is better to have a completely clear piece of sky at the top of the photo for this to work really well.

Onto the next one…

A cloudy day in Surfers Paradise QLD. It has the skyline and sky (even though cloudy).

The effect of the clouds is interesting but not sure about the edge. Those rays are a bit noticeable.

Next…

I thought this one would work well as it has definite bands of landscape.

…and it did. I really like this one. It looks like an eye.

Here are some of the other outcomes from photos I tried. if you are interested in seeing the original references, just let me know 🙂

This photo of a rock formation shows the effect of having multiple colours out to the top edge of the original photo – the rays are really noticeable.

All of the land mass and clouds were in the bottom quarter of the photo, the rest sky and sun rays.

Look, it’s Mickey Mouse! lol

I think this is one of my favourites

I had made some more, but I think this is enough of an overload of experiments for now.

It is not something I will do all the time, but it was a lot of fun to play and to see what Photoshop can do and how different layouts in the photos changes the way the spheres end up.

And I have to thank Leanne again for some great and easy to follow instructions on how to create spheres!

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

6 thoughts on “Photography: Making Spheres

  1. Wow, this is awesome!!! I love the last two the most. Great job!

  2. What fantastic results from the sphere-ing technique! Very creative and surreal! Well done for giving it a triumphant go!

    Cogtography, a photographic blog (mainly for photographers) for all your inspirational and creative ideas, give us a comment, a like and maybe even a follow. Get creative, get inspired:
    http://cogtography.wordpress.com/

  3. What a cool idea and so much fun!! 😀

Thanks for leaving a comment!

