Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Ceramics: Glazed Sealife

8 Comments

Back to TAFE tonight to ceramics class and to see how the glazing and firing turned out…

One small piece was missing – hopefully it is in the kiln that was cooling down tonight. It is a small circular piece that props the larger fish up off the base and I think it is really necessary. Once I have that piece I can glue them, and glue the smaller fish on the side of the base.

I have a piece of metal rod that I have to cut and that will lift the jellyfish to the left above the large puffer fish. Then I just have to sort out the wire I am going to use to make the jellyfish tentacles that will drift down over the puffer fish.

I’m really happy with the way the jellyfish has turned out especially the eyes. He has real character.

Once I have it all together, I’ll post a new picture 🙂

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

8 thoughts on “Ceramics: Glazed Sealife

  1. AMAZING jellyfish – is he for sale??? ( I have a real thing for jellyfish!).
    They all look great, well done!

    • Thanks Cindy. He’s not finished yet as I am going to add copper wire and/or other wire to make the tentacles and he will sit up on a rod. He is meant to be a part of the piece with the puffer fish but I could separate him. He won’t be glued to the rest and whilst I like the idea of him with the puffer, I have never been sure about the whole thing. I’ve been thinking about making a stand just for the jellyfish. If I do this, I’ll let you know. 🙂

  2. Did you change your setting for comments? Mine went through straight away no hassles. I usually have to log in to my wordpress account etc etc before it lets me post a comment – this was much easier!

  3. hi love your puffa fish are they for sale

    • Hi Mandy, thank you very much. I’m afraid they are not for sale, but thank you so much for your interest. I could possibly make something similar but I couldn’t guarantee the colours as I made them at a college course and may not be able to recreate the glazes used.
      Regards,
      Elaine

Thanks for leaving a comment!

