Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Craft, not Art, for a while

3 Comments

Having lived with arthritis for a bit over 30 years now (was a young’un when I got it) every now and then there are hiccups due to a rather faulty auto-immune system. The last month or so has been been one of those times, so art has taken a back seat. Even the camera has been fairly idle, which is unusual for me. Inspiration took a holiday so I have picked up my other love – craft – and kept creatively busy with that. In fact, after years of wanting to know how to crochet, I have finally learnt how!

In the last four weeks, I have crocheted an edge around a knitted blanket and then crocheted a whole blanket.

I have had the knitted blanket finished for a while and was going to ask someone else to edge it for me, but one of the wonderful women at my community art and craft group said she’d teach me. I learnt how to crochet by double crochet stitching around the blanket (undoing it a couple of times to get the tension right). It’s about a metre and a half square, so quite a lot of stitches. Helped me to get comfortable holding the crochet hook as I am more used to knitting needles.

Once I finished the edge I wanted to do some more so with 4 colours I taught myself treble crochet and how to make a granny square. 25 large squares later and I had a blanket.

The blue hasn’t shown up right in the photo (and I don’t know photoshop that well yet to fix it), but the four colours look great together. I finished sewing the ends in last night. Pity we are going into summer now – have to wait until autumn to use it.

So now, what to crochet next?

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

3 thoughts on “Craft, not Art, for a while

  1. YAY crochet is surprising easy once someone shows you HOW and deciphers the hieroglyphics that is the code on the patterns. Nice job. Tension was always my problem was well, I havent done any crochet for YEARS 🙂

    • I am so happy to be able to crochet now. Irene, who showed me, will help me with patterns when I come a cropper with what they mean. Tension doesn’t seem to be too much of a hassle as my tension with knitting has always been very even, but only time will tell with that really. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rainy but successful day at Blacktown Show | Mississhippi's Madness

Thanks for leaving a comment!

