Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Berry Tote Bag: made in half a day

Leave a comment

My daughter has had a gastric bug since 4am Friday morning, although today she is well on the mend. Yesterday, while she was quietly recovering I browsed the net to find some new crochet patterns. I came across a few tote bag patterns that seemed quite easy. I found a pattern on Lion Brand yarn’s website – a few modifications and half a day later, and I have completed my Berry tote bag…

It is made in Peaches and Creme Cotton (no longer available which is a pity). It is a heavy weight cotton used a lot for dishcloths. I only had two balls of the variegated colour but luckily had some purple that toned quite well to make the handles. The original pattern had a much longer bucket, was striped and had a thinner handle. I much prefer the sturdier handles. The bag tucks nicely under my arm, but I would probably make the handles a little longer next time.

I love the feel of the heavy cotton which will make it lovely to use. My daughter asked if she could have it please. She asks me that every time I make something new. I think I need to make two of everything or else I’ll never get to use them. Or I could just say ‘No’ 🙂

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

