Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Leave a comment

Linda, a printmaker, has shared her invaluable experiences at art shows. Well worth the read.

Musings From The Studio

Like many people, pre-Christmas is a busy time for me. My busy time extends to my art business as well, since it’s when I attend the most art shows and sales. I always learn something new from selling my art directly to the public, and 2012 was no different.

Here are the 10 things I learned this year that help contribute to a successful art show.

LINDA COTE-2012 Booth w Video

Tell people who you are.

It seems pretty basic, but an art booth needs to tell the story of you. If you don’t have a sign, or business cards, or anything that identifies your name or the type of art you are selling, you’re missing an important first impression. Sometimes, art speaks for itself.  But, remember you are competing for the attention of someone waking by, and you need to encourage them to stop. For the first time this year, I integrated a video of…

View original post 1,270 more words

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

