Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

On holidays

7 Comments

Happy New Year to all!

Things have been quiet on the art front since the school holidays began, and prior to that it was the rush to get organised for Christmas. That included all the school activities including presentation day (my daughter received an award – yay!), and making chocolate shortbread for all K’s teachers (18 in all – including guide leaders and piano teacher). There was something on everyday in December – none of them to do with art, more’s the pity.

But I have been creating in other ways – mostly in crochet (something I can do anywhere, anytime, and I don’t need to have all my concentration on it).

So here are a few of the things I have made, some finished, some still works in progress…

Crochet_1

I completed a blanket as a gift for a friend for Xmas/birthday in December, and made another crochet bag for my daughter

Crochet_2

Over a cuppa with a friend I taught myself how to make this flower in crochet

Crochet_3

I had some beautiful organic cotton, some from Blue Sky Alpacas, and decided to start a blanket for my daughter. She keeps wanting to pinch mine so thought I’d better make one just for her. This is the start of it – quite a few granny squares still needed

Orange green mitre_1

I started this mitre square blanket in winter and finally finished it in December

Orange green mitre_2

Once I’d finished this I then crocheted an edge around it. My husband has laid claim to this one for winter

crochet_4

Using some left over 10ply (4ply US) cotton I have started a scrap rug of flowers. Will probably make a runner for the end of the bed or something like that. Will wait and see how it grows

Only a couple more weeks of holidays and then everything will settle back down again… I hope.

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

7 thoughts on “On holidays

  1. Elaine, Beautiful creations (I love the colors of that miter square blanket)! You have been busy and productive, that’s what counts. Wishing you the best for this new year!

  2. wow lovely. I still have some little crochet throws made by my aunt about 50 years ago. Never got the hang of it myself 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rainy but successful day at Blacktown Show | Mississhippi's Madness

Thanks for leaving a comment!

