Mississhippi's Madness

A place to share my creative pursuits

Crochet: Trialling Market Bags

Leave a comment

I remember when I was a kid, my mum had crocheted straw market bags with plastic ring handles. They were all the rage (does that date me?)

I much prefer cotton to straw so, with some leftover heavy weight cotton I decided to see if I could find a great market bag to make. After searching around the net I found a couple of patterns, chose one I liked the look of and started crocheting.

MarketBag1_webI started with the teal, ran out and then had to try and match another leftover. The purple variegated works okay for the handle.

I then turned to a colour I had purchased but never really liked…

MarketBag2_web…showed it to a girlfriend who loved it and she now has this to test out for me and give me feedback on how well this cotton performs as a market bag.

The teal one has gone to my mother, who loves bags, even more so if she can brag that her daughter made it!

But silly me, now I can’t test one out, so I’ll have to make another. I didn’t even measure it so I can share dimensions, so when I’ve made mine and started using it I’ll share the results.

Oh, and by the way, when I was searching through my mother’s stash of craft supplies I found packets and packets of ribbon straw (or raffia) just waiting for me to use for market bags! Do you think the raffia crochet market bag will come back in to fashion, or should I give it a miss? (I even discovered some of the old plastic handles that my mother had hoarded away)

Aah, the 70s (I was really young then…really!) The first record I was given was in the 70s – it was the Bay City Rollers. I still have that album, how sad is that? One of my grandparents or someone like that gave it to me for Christmas. My brother was given the same album, which he donated to me as it was waaaaay too embarrassing for him to keep once he was older, and years later (in the 90s) I donated it to a charity stall – it was the first album sold that day.

But that is it for sharing my embarrassing history. Hopefully there won’t be any future installments.

(PS. did you notice I didn’t say I was going to get rid of that second copy of the album now???!)

Author: Elaine

Artist, writer, married, mother, living with Ankylosing Spondylitis and winning (most of the time). My creative impulses have led me to drawing, pastel painting, writing, handcrafts and photography.

Thanks for leaving a comment!

